10 Things You Can Do
- Discuss the risks associated with drug and alcohol use.
- Talk with your children about your values regarding drug and alcohol use and establish clear no use rules.
- Keep track of alcohol in your home and make sure teens can’t access it.
- Keep prescription drugs locked or hidden from children or teens. Dispose of unused or expired drugs.
- Connect with other families to keep our teens safe.
- Model appropriate behavior.
- Establish safety mechanisms if your child is in an unsafe situation.
- Praise your children for the positive choices and things they do.
- Try to eat meals together as a family as much as possible.
- Stay aware of your children’s grades, activities, and friendships
When to Intervene?
If you’ve discovered that your child is drinking or doing drugs, the first thing you need to do is take a deep breath. You are not in this alone – there are many people who can and will help you. Start by talking with people you know, such as family members, friends, teachers, school counselors, sports team coaches, clergy, and your doctor. All of these people, along with many others, can help you get focused and determine what to do.
You can never be too safe or intervene too early – even if you believe your teen is just “experimenting”. Casual or experimental use can quickly turn into abuse, dependence or addiction; leading to accidents, legal trouble, and serious health problems. If you are at all concerned about your child – you can and should intervene.
Visit the Partnership for Drug-Free Kids for a parent checklist with information and videos to help guide you through the steps above.
2017 Interactive Parent Handbook
If a driver under age 21, is stopped and issued a citation for a traffic violation, and found to have any trace of alcohol in their system while operating a motor vehicle, his or her driving privileges will be suspended. If the driver refuses to submit to testing, their driving privileges will be suspended.*
First offense—3 month suspension of driving privileges for a BAC of more than .00.
Second offense—1-year suspension of driving privileges for a BAC of more than .00.
In Illinois, any person under age 21 may be charged with a DUI: if he or she has a BAC of .08 or more; more than .05 with additional evidence of impairment; any illegal drugs in his or her system; or other indications of impaired driving.
First DUI conviction: Minimum 2-yr revocation of driving privileges
Second DUI conviction: Minimum 5-year revocation of driving privileges
Illinois law prohibits a person under age 21 from purchasing, accepting, possessing or consuming alcoholic beverages. Infractions result in the suspension or revocation of driving privileges.
*It is at the discretion of the investigating officer and based on test results or a test refusal whether a traffic stop results in a Zero Tolerance or DUI charge or both.
Source: Illinois Liquor Control Commission (www.dontbesorry.org), and Illinois Secretary of State (www.cyberdriveillinois.com)
Documents & More
- Clearing the Vapor
- Despejando El Vapor
- Vaping: a Parents Guide
- Vapeo: Guia Para Padres
- Vaping Presentation Slides 1/31/18
- Teen Parties
- Fiestas De Adolescentes
- Marijuana Awareness: Talk to Your Teen
- Marijuana Talk Kit
- Local Laws for New Drivers
- Leyes Locales Para Conductores Nuevos
For additional brochures, fact sheets, online resources and local resources, please visit our More Resources page.